The 4 Stages of Learning.

“That’s all for now…”

I was prepared for more.

“I don’t want to overwhelm you.”

My boss proceeded to tell me about the four stages of learning, similar to The Transtheoretical Model/The Stages of Change.

I wrote down the four stages and thought about them for the rest of the day:

  1. Unconscious Incompetence – you don’t know you don’t know.
  2. Conscious Incompetence – you know you don’t know.
  3. Conscious Competence – you know you know, but you have to consciously apply your knowledge, stay aware and present.
  4. Unconscious Competence – your knowledge is second nature; you do it without being aware you’re even doing it.

Teaching yoga became my unconscious competence. I didn’t have to think about it. I could create sequences, cue, adjust with my eyes closed, my mind elsewhere.

Dangerous! The antithesis of being present.

I can’t do that anymore. There’s too much at risk: the patients’ physical and mental wellbeing (mine, too).

I have to remain conscious, constantly learning new ways, new techniques to keep them safe. I can’t afford to be asleep.

My old rote ways aren’t welcome here.

In reflection, I wasn’t even conscious of the toll the unconscious doing was taking on my spirit and my talent.

Today, I walk on the tippy toes of humility.

I am conscious of my competence, my incompetence and my unconscious incompetence; there’s so much I’m not even aware I don’t know, and what I do know, I must treat like I just received it.

Lately, I’ve been teaching like I did when I first became a teacher:
Honored to be doing it.
Astounded that I’m even able to do it.
Constantly thinking of what comes next.
Delicate and discerning with my words, my energy and my touch,
But–most of all,
I’m there, completely there.
Conscious. ~Rebecca

If you’re interested in learning more about my yoga program, click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *